The Heavenly Birth

Christmas is the time we celebrate the birth
Of the Son of God brought down to our Earth
A Pure, Unique Master-Being from Heaven above
Sent to guide through all Eternity with Divine Love

His birth is a wondrous story, enchantingly told
Mother Mary young and pure, a heart of gold
Visited by an Angel with Heavenly praise
“The Son of God, you and Joseph shall raise”

Joseph’s character was obviously strong and good
Although not the true father, he declared he would
Unite with Mary and become the dad
To love and support the growing lad

The story unfolds with drama and suspense
To Bethlehem they travelled, the journey immense
For heavily pregnant Mary, arriving on a donkey
Needing a place to give birth, to be a sanctuary

With everywhere full, the only place to stay
Was in a stable, with a manger to lay
The newborn baby, the Heavenly King
Now present on Earth, Enlightenment to bring

A brilliant sign heralded the birth
Notable enough for many to seek it’s worth
Kings or wisemen, and even shepherds too
The Heavenly star shone to guide them through

Each came with praise and a gift to give
Knowing the Son of God was here to live
A physical life, even from a baby so small
Showing a connection to God, available to all

***

Everyone has their own personal belief
And I do not wish to cause anyone grief
But we all decide how much of this tale is true
Our perceptions give us our own unique view

I asked for guidance before beginning to write
Asking to share some loving Christmas ‘Light’
What came to me at that moment, for what it’s worth
Is the Divine importance of every single human birth

Jesus grew up knowing he was God’s Son
No limits were placed, He was the One
Sent to Earth to share true Love Divine
And through eternity, boundless by time

With no restrictions to cause Him doubt
He grew to share God’s Love throughout
His life while here upon this Earth
All starting with that momentous birth

If the King of Kings can be born in a stable
What of other births? We should be able
To see the wisdom and Light showing us the way
To celebrate the truth of births each and every day

For all mothers are pure with hearts of gold
And fathers if present, strong and bold
Each one is doing the best they can do
Which is all that God asks of you

No matter where the birth will take place
The Divine is there, but you won’t see a trace
Lowly or regal, it matters not who you are
Beings of Love and Light come from afar

They come to witness the transition of a Soul
On it’s journey to Earth to learn to be whole
In physical form, the journey it takes
To become Aware as the Spirit Awakes

For every single baby contains God in their heart
Illuminating so brightly right from the start
If we placed no limits or doubts in their minds
Their genuine Divine Presence in life we would find

Trina Graves – 8th December 2016


About This Poem

In December 2016, after writing my first ever Christmas poem Christmas Through The Family’ to be used for my Christmas cards, I had no intention of writing another that year.

A few days later I decided to do my next quote poem (back then I only added my poems to my website: Spiritual Quotes To Live By). I had a list of quotes in my notebook on my desk, so I switched off the computer (no distractions) and got ready to write… but then I could not find the notebook! I searched the desk (there was not a lot on it) but still couldn’t find it, even though I knew I had seen it. ‘Weird’ I thought!

However, knowing from experience that once I prayed and asked for guidance I would receive whatever I needed, I let go of the mystery and went to the kitchen to get a glass of water. On returning to my desk… there was the notebook so clearly in view!!! I laughed and knew that I was not meant to write a quote poem. So, I asked for guidance, now thinking, perhaps something else for Christmas?

I knew then that it would be a poem about the importance of births and would start with the birth of Jesus. But, I was quite surprised that the whole nativity story just flowed out.

The Heavenly Birth - Christmas poem by Trina Graves - Spiritual Quotes To Live By
picture from Pixabay

2 thoughts on “The Heavenly Birth

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.